RSS

my nanowrimo

13 Nov

Nanowrimo

I wasn’t planning on doing NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), mainly because I was really busy with emails and school and such and I also had a blog event going on the whole first week of November.  I really wanted to do the challenge, but I just didn’t see how it could work out.  But then something told me to go for it anyway, and since I already had three books of a trilogy I was super excited about planned out, I decided to jump in and write the first book.  Well, I’m already into the second week with no signs of stopping anytime soon (I have over 30,000 words, although my book will be way bigger than 50,000).  I thought I’d take this opportunity to tell you a little bit about my novel, introduce you to some of the characters and share some snippets.

‘for fun’ cover i made for book 1.

I Will Repay is the first book in the Vengeance Is Mine trilogy. The year is 2119. Nathan, a young man raised in the North American brainwashing facility since he was a little child, has had a rude awakening concerning the government’s agenda. He escapes from the facility in an attempt to revenge one of his friends who dies protecting the old queen from the new one. While on his journey for vengeance, he meets a young woman named Lily who joins him in his quest for Truth and Justice. But bigger things are at stake than one man’s struggle to revenge his friend’s death. Will the bigger picture swallow up Nathan, Lily, and those he has come to care for?

I love writing this book.  The story has completely gripped me, and so have the characters.  I love the characters.  Each and every one of them, from Laii to Nathan to Hunter to Lily (who I haven’t even written in yet) is amazingly real to me and I love how they seem to take on a life of their own and do things that I’d never had thought would work for the plot.  At the risk of sounding insane, I’ve even had a couple of ‘conversations’, particularly with Aaron and Hunter concerning motives and such.  It was awesome and sad at the same time.  I want to introduce you to a few of the characters, just the ones that have been written into I Will Repay so far.

“I know what I saw. I know it, and I won’t rest till I find them again and rescue them.”

Nathan is the main character throughout the series, although he’s not the focal character for books 2 and 3 (if that makes any sense).  When I first planned out the book, I imagined him as the perfect hero – strong, brave, compassionate, clear-headed, and so on.  But as I started writing, I discovered a lot more flaws and interesting details about him than I had first imagined.  He has a problem with keeping his temper in check, is fiercely loyal (and I do mean fiercely) and is something of a fatalist.  At least at first.  And once he gets a purpose in his mind, nothing can deter him from it.  So he’s infinitely more interesting than my first idea of him.  I really feel bad because I keep piling stuff on him that results in both physical and emotional scars (that he’ll probably carry around for the rest of his life), but what can I do?  It just…happens.

“We’re brothers now…it’s true.  Whenever two people embark on a mission like this, it means they’re brothers.”

I hate what I do to Hunter.  He’s a guy, a couple of years older than Nathan, who teaches him Defensive Arts, makes a pact with him (and becomes his brother), and helps Nathan in his quest for finding the lost children (they aren’t really lost, but the two of them can’t find them…if that makes any sense), and because of that he gets beat up by the facility guards and ultimately loses his life (I figured that wasn’t a spoiler because it happens pretty early on).  Originally, the character of Hunter wasn’t even in the plot, but he just sort of…happened when I started writing.  His story is really sad, because he’s been brainwashed all his life into thinking that fighting/dying for the queen is the greatest calling ever, so that’s what he does.  And I think he’s the kind of guy who would make a great father, especially as he’s always looking out for Nathan, but since he doesn’t even know the meaning of the word ‘family’…  Like I said, I hate what I do.

“You’re too angry, Nathan.  You let anger wipe away all your good sense far too often.  Why?”

I like Laii (pronounced ‘Lay’).  She’s one of the guardians in the facility, but unlike the others, she truly is a guardian.  She looks out for Nathan and tries to protect him when he goes snooping around one too many times (it works, but then Hunter takes the brunt of the punishment) and she’s full of guarded affection and compassion.  I like writing her scenes, mostly because of her interactions with Nathan.  Oh, and the reason she’s hooded in the above picture is because all the guardians wear hoods/cloaks/masks.  It’s a uniform.

_____________________

So there you have it.  A few of the characters, a couple of tiny snippets (I was going to do more at the bottom of this post, but it’s running long already and I need to get off soon – next time, though.  I promise).  There’s a lot more characters (Lily, Becca, Jase, Esther, Aaron, David, Benjamin, Ryder…) but those are a couple of minor ones and the main character.  Hope you enjoyed this.

Eva

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 13, 2013 in i will repay, nanowrimo, vengeance is mine, writing

 

One response to “my nanowrimo

  1. Jenna

    December 5, 2013 at 12:57 am

    Wow…sounds really intriguing! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
