RSS

my typical writing day

27 Nov

From one of the most prolific writers ever.....Even though I don't care much for her books (They just aren't my taste) This is a very true statement

I always like reading about other writers’ MOs, so I thought I’d post my usual writing schedule here and let you see what I do every day.  Of course, every writer is different, but I’ve found that the biggest similarity between all the writers I know, is that they write every, single day, and that’s something I try to do.  Ever since November began, I’ve kept my goal of writing at the very least one hundred words a day.  And every day I’ve written wayyyyy more than that.  One of the reasons, I believe, is that I’m so caught up in the story.  When I used to write just because it was the ‘cool thing to do’, I’d often go for days without writing, because my heart wasn’t in it.  But now I write upwards of two thousand words.  Anyway, here’s my schedule.

  • 6:15 a.m. – Wake up and get straight to my schoolwork.
  • 10:00 a.m. – I generally finish my schoolwork around this time, and then I scribble down a chapter summary for what I want to write that day, and get to it.  I write for about an hour while I listen to music (I find I write a lot better/faster when I listen to music.  The current soundtrack I’m obsessed with is the one for Catching Fire.  It’s brilliant and it fits the mood of my trilogy perfectly).
  • 11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. – Read a book, listen to more music on my iPod to unwind, sing in my room, and do other relaxing activities for half an hour or so until I have to prepare lunch.  It really helps my subconscious when I do stuff like that (I’ve also found washing dishes to be an excellent help – I literally think of all my best ideas when I do that).  I eat lunch and then read some more until naptime.
  • 12:30 to 2:00 p.m. – My afternoon computer time.  I check up on my emails, blog here, or over at my main blog.  I also go on Pinterest, read articles about writing, catch up on the Go Teen Writers’ facebook group, and maybe even do a bit more writing.  And, of course, listen to music.
  • 8:00 to 9:00 p.m. – This time is usually spent writing and/or blogging.  I’m going to be editing a book series for a friend of mine next year, so I’ll be using this hour for that purpose later on.

After I have my last hour on the computer, I stay up really late reading/listening to music, go to bed at about eleven at night, wake up really early…wash, rinse, and repeat.  It’s kind of a vicious cycle.  So, what does your writing day look like?

Eva

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 27, 2013 in random, writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
