RSS

just write

30 Nov

November has been an amazing month for me.  I did my first NaNoWriMo (and won – I actually have 70,054 words at the moment), I discovered greater things about my characters than I could’ve thought up of on my own, I created new plot twists and backstories, and I wrote.  That’s the most important part.  I wrote every single day of this month, and I now have over seventy thousand words to show for it.  And I think that’s awesome.  It goes to show how much I can really do when I put my mind to it.

Sometimes, I think that we get so caught up with planning and plotting and outlining, that we forget we’re writers, first and foremost, and we’re supposed to write.  Sure, organizing and planning and character interviews are important, but they’re only a small fraction of being a writer.  Another little bit goes to promoting your book before/after it’s published, but the majority of a writer’s life is, surprise, surprise, actually sitting down at your computer (or notebook, or fine parchment scroll, or whatever) and writing.  Pouring your heart out onto the paper (okay, I’m sure most of you use a computer, but it sounds better to say paper) and letting your characters speak and tell you their story.

We owe it to them.  We owe it to ourselves.  We owe it to the world.

Go write.  It’ll be worth it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 30, 2013 in random, writing

 

One response to “just write

  1. missjanebennet

    November 30, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    Aw, that was so inspiring, Eva!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
