RSS

quickie update

09 Jan

I’ve been neglecting this blog lately, mostly because of the holidays – I’ve only just gotten back into my writing routine.  Well, actually, I didn’t write anything today, because I’ve come down with a fever which saps any wish to write.  However…I have 16,000 words in book 2, Locust Eaten Years so far and I’m quite happy with how it’s coming along.  It feels weird, in a way to be writing a sequel, since I’ve never done that before, but I’m having lots of fun exploring Lily’s character (she’s the focus charrie of book 2) and the next blog post will probably be by her.  I find character posts to be extremely helpful for helping me know the character better and, frankly, they’re tons of fun.

It’s kind of ironic that I’ve gotten sick at this particular point in the book, because I’m going to be writing about a plague soon – of course, it’ll be much worse than a simple fever, but still…and even though I have no desire to write anything right now, my subconscious has decided to give me tons of ideas for new plot twists, and ways I can edit and change the books to make them better.  I’ve contented myself with writing them all down in my binder for the VIM project and leave it at that.  I’m really loving the way I seem to get inspiration from every place possible – it’s extremely invigorating.  Anyway, I’m going to leave you with a snippet of Aaron’s point of view (his character is developing beautifully – when I wrote book 1, I wasn’t sure that I was bringing everything across about him that I wanted to, but book 2 is turning out to be so much better in that regard).

He was going to overthrow the corrupt government system, he had a good friend for a travelling companion, and he had the Bible with him. He had been planning on taking one, but had somehow forgotten. By the time he got outside, it was too late to go back in, so finding Nathan’s abandoned one was like an act of Providence, and he treated it as such.
The strange thing was, he had not read it once since joining Nathan.
Why? he asked himself now. The thought surprised him. He’d always been conscientious about Bible reading, both at home and on missions – although he’d done it more secretly then – so why stop the habit now. Then, he knew the answer, but he shook his head against it, refusing to let it have full sway over his other thoughts.
He didn’t want to think about it, but the thought kept coming back, persistent. Perhaps it was God speaking to him, and how does one fight against the thoughts God puts in the mind? The thought was simple, but it opened up frightening doors that he didn’t want to go through.
He was afraid.
Afraid that this fight was not God’s Will, and afraid to read the Bible in case that thought was proven right. But it was His Will. It had to be. Rebellion was the only way that God’s people would be safe again, and be able to come out of hiding. Didn’t the Bible itself say that there was a time for peace, and a time for war. Surely this was one of those times.
Gathering up a few more twigs, he hurried back to where Nathan was waiting. ~Chapter 3

Eva

 
 

One response to “quickie update

  1. Eowyn

    January 9, 2014 at 3:42 pm

    oOo…. Me likes!! Can’t wait to hear more about Aaron!

     

Leave a Reply

 
