RSS

DOOM awaits us…

07 Feb

photo taken from here.

So, I do have a post in the works talking all about my new writing project (well, I’m not exactly writing it right now – just gathering inspiration and such) but it’s not ready yet, and this event is coming up pretty soon, so I thought I’d write a quick post about DOOM (Definitely O-normous O-uthor Months) ’cause I’m pretty excited for it.  Now, in all honesty, I’m just joining it because I think it would be fun – I didn’t actually have any problem writing 50K in one month during NaNo – but it’s open to everyone, so I thought I’d give it a go (and I hope it turns into an annual thing).

DOOM is a writing event that spans two months (March and April – I’ll miss the first month of Camp NaNoWriMo, but I’ll definitely be catching the one in July), as the photo above shows.  It’s an alternative for NaNoers (and writers who don’t do NaNo due to time concerns) who want to go at a slower pace, yet still have the challenge of writing every day (or do a huge writing session at the end of the week to get caught up).  There are basically no rules, as the girl who started this whole thing knows all about NaNo rebels.  I’m probably going to go the more traditional, ‘safe’ route and keep working on the VIM trilogy, but I might be putting it aside to work on the project I mentioned earlier (more info on that coming soon – I promise).

We DOOMers (hehe…I love the acronym.  It’s so dramatic) all hang out at the official DOOM facebook group.  Come and join us!

Eva

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 7, 2014 in DOOM, random, writing

 

One response to “DOOM awaits us…

  1. missjanebennet

    February 7, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    Hmmm…this sounds fascinating! I think I might try it–maybe for the second book in my still-unnamed series. And then, maybe Camp NaNo for more of it or the “handmaiden novel”. Although I doubt I’ll actually get around to doing both. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
