RSS

an update on DOOM and other things

08 Mar

No.  I’ve not died.  I’ve just been very absent lately, for a number of reasons.  I got sick, I was at my grandparents house for a week (and not really able to write at all), and, frankly, I’ve been slacking off about writing.  That might sound ridiculous, especially since we’re now into March and DOOM has been going on for eight days.  I’ve been home for a couple of those days, and I have been writing.  For three reasons – I want to win DOOM, I want to get book two of Vengeance Is Mine into the hands of my beta-readers, and I’m a writer.  But I’m only a writer if I write, so….yeah.  I have to write.  I have 53.5K words in Locust Eaten Years and it’s coming along quite well, even though my writing’s terrible at the moment.

Lily and her mom have reunited, so my inner squee is going off.  Buuuut at pretty much the exact same time, it’s gotten depressing because the capture of the Existents is going to start any time which means A Certain Character Who Is One Of My Favorites will die soon.  So that’s sad.  I’m actually kind of pleased that I’ve kept the death count down (some authors I know of/am friends with kill huge amounts of characters).  All in all, I think only five characters, or so, will die through the three books (I don’t think I could handle more) and only one of them is really major.  Moving on before I give away spoilers…

I don’t usually work on more than one project than once, but for DOOM I am.  Locust Eaten Years, Betrayal, and a new project called (for now) Marshfield Court.  That one calls for a little explanation.  I was riding home on public transit with my grandmother and one of the stops that was called out was ‘Marshfield Court’.  I thought that was an odd name for a street, and then my brain instantly gave me a story idea where all the bus passengers are thrown into a type of time vortex and go back to medieval times where they have to work together to defeat an evil king who lives in a palace called Marshfield Court.  Thrown in some mother/daughter reconciliation and a heartbreaking love triangle, and we’re all set.  I’m working off that premise, and I have the prologue written so far.  Along with several important scenes in Betrayal.

What have you been working on?

Eva

 

Leave a Reply

 
