RSS

fan videos, music, and world wars

22 Apr

[In some ways, I don’t know why I bother to chronicle the new plot bunnies I come across on a semi-regular basis.  I mean, sure, they’re cool (at least to me), but there’s so many of them, that it becomes repetitive at times.  But I’m usually able to discern whether or not a plot bunny is just an interesting idea or an actual bit of inspiration that could and will turn into an actual book.  So hopefully it’s not all in vain.]

As you may, or may not know, I’m somewhat obsessed with Marvel right now (specifically the Avengers team, more specifically Steve Rogers & Co.).  And I love watching fan videos, so I’ve been picking through the huge selection on Youtube and discovering what I do and don’t like about different fan videos.  For those of you who don’t know anything about said videos, they’re basically clips from a movie (or movies) set to a song that describes the movie or a certain couple pairing.  I’ve seen a lot of meh ones, some good ones, and a very few outstanding ones.  My criteria for deciding whether or not the fan video is good comes about when I ask myself these four questions:

  • Is the song the kind I like?
  • Is it edited properly (i.e. clips fitting the lyrics, not a lot of washed out colours and slow-mo)?
  • Does it make me feel something?

Wait.  I’m getting on a side trail here (like plot bunnies, actually).  The main purpose of this post was to talk about my newest project – The War Diaries – and I’m getting away from that.  So let me very quickly explain how all that talk of fan videos and Marvel.  The video at the top of this post is an Avengers fan video, set to the song ‘This Is War’.  Now.  I don’t like the song.  It’s not my style of music.  It’s not the kind of thing I would listen to all the time (or even once a day.  Or week.  Or month.), but the fan video is so well put together, so I have watched it a few times (quite rare for any fan video – usually I just watch it once and forget about it), hence, I’ve heard the song a few times.  And now I’m glad I did, because it inspired something awesome (or at least something I hope will be awesome).

See, I’ve recently become interested in the time periods of both WWI and WWII.  It’s been fueled by many things (both movies and books), and I felt like I should write something about one of those time periods (or both of them).  The thought was lying dormant in the back of my mind for weeks.  It was waiting for that one, inspirational spark that would set all the knowledge and interest in both world wars that I have into something writing-a-book worthy.  And it was that song.  There’s one element about it that I noticed (mainly because a lot of the words are on-screen in the fan vid, so I actually understood them).  There’s a list of characters, just waiting to be fleshed out with names, ages, personalities, and backgrounds.  I won’t use all of the characters in the song, but it’s given me a starting point.  This list is as follows:

  • Soldier
  • Civilian
  • Martyr
  • Victim
  • Prophet
  • Liar
  • Leader
  • Pariah
  • Victor
  • Messiah

So…thoughts?

Eva

P.S.  If you’re a Marvel fan, do yourself a favour and watch that video.  It really is amazing.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2014 in random, the war diaries, writing

 

4 responses to “fan videos, music, and world wars

  1. The Girl Next Door

    April 23, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    This is absolutely brilliant! Please write this!!!!

     
  2. Alexa

    April 27, 2014 at 4:31 am

    Looks like a cool list! And I love Marvel!

     
  3. Natalie

    April 27, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    I think you’ve really hit on something here! The list is fantastic. Perfect for creating your characters.

     

Leave a Reply

 
