RSS

plot bunny #5: blood & rubies

19 Jun

no Pinterest board – yet.

The 1920’s have always fascinated me (let’s face it…all time periods of history fascinate me), and I enjoyed watching Downton Abbey for this reason (I didn’t adore it like so many people do, but it was enjoyable enough).  And, surprise, surprise, it inspired me with a story idea.  This particular idea was first realized as a short story (which you can read here, at the end of the post), and I had a lot of fun writing it.  Then, I decided to use it as a project for the Plot Bunny challenge, and ideas started pouring in thick and fast for a full-length novel.  I can honestly say that, so far, it’s the plot bunny that’s intrigued me the most.  Writing the snippet gave me a writer’s high (even if it may not look that good to you), and I get happy shivers every time I look at the above collage.  Basically, there’s a ruby ring with a history, blackmail, a thief/murderer (although not who you might think), and a gorgeous love story.  It makes me fangirl just thinking about it.  I miiight be doing this novel for NaNoWriMo, but I’ll have to work on the plot beforehand, since mysteries/thrillers still aren’t my forte.

The thief stared at her nails and shook her head.
“Ragged,” she muttered.
It was true, they were ragged. The late nights, endless days, fear of being discovered, and the need to keep up a constant pretence was wearing on her nerves, which in turn wore on her fingernails. Her usually polished look was starting to slide away, and it was only a matter of time before others started to notice.
Especially the person she most wished would never find out.
Her husband.
With a restless sigh she stood up from where she sat on the side of her bed and walked over to her tiny vanity. She threw herself into the elegant chair that sat in front of it, her flowing gown billowing around her. A nail file was in one of the drawers, and she pulled it out and set to returning her nails to their former glory.
The whole thing was a facade, really.
Being a dutiful wife to the best of husbands – Robert was that, certainly. Telling the servants what to do. Conversing with her mother-in-law with a guise of politeness. None of them knew what she was planning, or what she was capable, but the time was fast approaching . In truth, she would have to act swiftly to keep all of them safe, whether she really wanted to or not.
But, oh, how she wanted to act.
Right now, with decision, no hesitation.
The door opened with its usual creak, and in her mirror, she saw Robert enter the room.
“It’s almost dinner,” he said. “Just thought I’d come up to remind you.”
She smiled. “Thank you. I’ll be right down.” She kept her hands firmly in her lap and replaced the nail file. She was finished, anyway. Finished with hiding and waiting and not doing anything. Robert nodded and was about to leave when she turned around and caught his hand in hers. There were so many things she wanted to say, but she swallowed them all down, and instead said, “I’m ready now.”
“We’ll go down, then,” he said, smiling.
His eyes were so full of love and admiration and pride in her that she could barely stand it. Him discovering what she would do had never figured into her plans, but if he ever did, she truly believed she might kill herself. To see that look go out of his eyes and have it replaced by sadness, or even hatred would be more than she could bear. She was sure of that.
It did nothing to dissuade her, though. ~Blood & Rubies

I’m really happy with this snippet.  You?

Eva

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2014 in blood & rubies, june crusade, snippets, writing

 

3 responses to “plot bunny #5: blood & rubies

  1. Anna Baggins

    June 20, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    Love this! By the way, how do you make your gorgeous collages? I’ve tried to start doing something like it on my blog because I absolutely adore yours… but I’m not sure how to get that effect you have.

     
    • evaschon

      June 20, 2014 at 4:25 pm

      I use Picmonkey’s (http://www.picmonkey.com/) collage feature to make the actual collage, and then I open it in their photo editing thingy and add effects like darkening and softening and stuff like that.

       
  2. Jenna (@jkcomfort)

    June 22, 2014 at 4:18 am

    I like all the mystery involved. I love mysteries! I would definitely read this if you wrote it. (Sorry for taking so long in reading the story you sent me. I’ve been really busy and I’m horrible at reading online things :/ I really like the story though!)

     

Leave a Reply

 
