RSS

crossroads?

27 Aug

This is great! The Crossroads of Should and Must — Editor’s Picks — Medium

At the moment, I’m not sure what to do with my writing.

I wrapped up my Hunger Games/Rat Patrol crossover fanfiction just a few days ago, and I don’t know where to go from there.  Yesterday, I wrote about a thousand words in Vengeance Is Mine (at the moment, I’m going with the assumption that it’s just going to be one book), but something was missing.  I don’t know what it was, all I know is that the spark, the need I used to feel and have to write this particular story is missing, at least for right now.  It’s not because I’m bored of the story, not because I hate it.  Actually, I’ve never loved and believed in my characters more – Nathan, Lily, Dylan, just to name a few, are very near and dear to my heart – and that could be part of the reason.  I’m not doing justice to them, or the story.  It took every bit of effort to wring those thousand words out of me and while I know writing isn’t always easy (far from it!) that session seemed particularly hard.  Another problem I have is that instead of inspiring me, all the dystopian stories I’ve been reading lately are bleeding into my work, making it look like a cheap plagarism, and my mind isn’t clear enough to think of unique ideas.

To put it lightly, I’m frustrated with the whole thing.  I want to write VIM.  I want to create a stellar plot and bring all the characters I love (and even the ones I hate) to life.  I want to finish this project.  But right now, I’m not sure I can.  Which brings up the question – what should I do?  In a lot of ways, I feel like I should keep slogging through VIM and force myself to stick with the project until the new draft is completed.  But I don’t want to grow to hate the story, which is what I’m afraid might happen if I keep making myself work on it.  NaNo’s coming up, which means I’ll be able to take a break and work on Our Story, Our Year…but until then, I have no idea what I should do.  I definitely don’t want to give up writing, though.

What do you, my readers, think is the best course?  Keep working on VIM, write a plot bunny, or just plan for NaNo?

Eva

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2014 in random, vengeance is mine, writing

 

5 responses to “crossroads?

  1. Eowyn

    August 27, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Maaaaybe… take a break from writing? Do another fanfic? Go back and work on your first re-write? Or just keep going through VIM. After all, this could just be a stage.

    *hugs*

     
    • evaschon

      August 27, 2014 at 2:27 pm

      Aw, thanks! *hugs back* I miiiight take a short sabbatical, or maybe write everything in notebooks instead of on the computer.

       
      • Eowyn

        August 27, 2014 at 2:55 pm

        Sounds GREAT. 🙂

         
  2. Alexa

    August 31, 2014 at 3:53 am

    Maybe you could take a break from writing for a little bit, just make sure to get back into it soon.
    Also, I’ve heard that it’s bad to read books in the same genre during your first draft for the exact reasons that you mentioned. So maybe you ought to try reading other genres during your break.

     
    • evaschon

      August 31, 2014 at 1:44 pm

      Oh, I actually hadn’t heard anything about it being bad to read similar genres – I’m currently reading The Fault In Our Stars and some Christian fiction, so it should all even out now.

       

Leave a Reply

 
