RSS

a writing tag

03 Sep

My dear friend, Anne-girl, has recently started a new blog all about writing well.  As part of the blog launch festivities, she posted a fun writing tag for anyone to participate in.  I don’t always do tags, but since this one was about writing (I’m always looking out for writing tags) I’ve decided to go for it.  Here are my answers to her questions, and if you’re a writer, I think you’d enjoy doing this tag as well.

What is your favorite kind of cake? If you don’t eat cake {because of gluten issues or allergies or diet or whatever} what is your favorite dessert?  I was going to say boring, old chocolate, but then I remembered that my mom makes a really delicious peanut-butter sheet cake with chocolate frosting.  Huzzah!  Now I can be unique! (although I still love chocolate cake…it’s Dauntless, after all)

How long have you been writing?  Forever?  I started writing seriously when I was about thirteen, I guess, but I’ve always scribbled down stories (or at least thought them out in my head) for as long as I can remember.

Do you read books and blogs about writing? If so what are some of your favorites?  I don’t read too many writing blogs.  In fact, I can only call two to mind right now – Anne-girl’s and Go Teen Writers.  Both of them have been extremely helpful in my writing life, and I can easily say that they’re two of my favorite blogs.  As for books…I’ve read several books on writing, but the only two I can think of right now, that are awesome enough to recommend, are Writing For Dummies and Your Novel, Day By Day.

Do you believe it’s important to study writing as an art form? Why or why not?  I have mixed feelings about this question.  On the one hand, studying the art of writing can be helpful in terms of characterization, plot, etc.  But I also believe that, to a certain extent, writers are born, not made. (not to sound prideful, or anything)  Anyone can write, but not everyone can be a writer.  Although, on the other hand, I believe that studying writing as an art form could potentially help anyone become a writer.  Ugh.  My brain is so confused right now….I got up early this morning.

Who’s writing has influenced yours the most?  There are several writers who have influenced me in some way or the other, but the top three are (in no particular order) Jane Austen, Jack Cavanaugh, and Anne-girl herself.  Jane Austen because imitating her writing style was what got me writing seriously in the first place.  Jack Cavanaugh because the awesomeness and genius of his writing pushes me to do better myself.  And Anne-girl because her passion and dedication for writing both awes and inspires me.

Do you consider writing more important than food? Why or why not?  No.  Simply because if you didn’t eat, you wouldn’t be alive very long to write.  Although I do admit skipping snacks (if not meals) to write some more, particularly during NaNoWriMo.

Tell us the thing you are most excited about with your writing.  This coming NaNo!  I’ve got an amazing story to write this year and I can’t wait to dive into it.

What are you dreading most in your writing?  Revising VIM.  I started, stopped, started again, and now I’m completely stalled.  I know that I’ll have to work on it some day (since my writer’s mind can’t rest easy until it’s done) but I’m putting it off for as long as possible.  The plot isn’t working at all, the characterization is rotten, and the whole thing is one jumbled, complicated mess.  I hate editing.

Would you rather have people love your book now or be considered a genius after you are dead?  I’d rather have people love my book(s) now.  Even if it’s only a small group of people.

Don’t forget to check out Anne-girl’s new blog, Half Baked!

Eva

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2014 in random, writing

 

Leave a Reply

 
